At Sunday’s Bank of America Chicago Marathon, 44,571 runners crossed the finish line, a record-high in the 41 years of the event, event organizers announced.

The 2018 event took place under rainy conditions for the first time since 2006, but that did not take away from the competition.

“The Chicago Marathon welcomed a diverse field of runners from more than 100 countries, all 50 states and all 50 Chicago Wards,” an event press release said. “With the reinstatement of pacers and the assembly of a world-class field, this year’s event treated spectators to a variety of thrilling finishes.”

The elite field was considered “stacked” prior to the event, and performances did not disappoint. Sir Mo Farah from Somalia was the first to cross the finish line in 2:05:11, setting a European record and marking the eighth fastest time in Chicago Marathon history. The second and third place finishers, Ethiopia’s Mosinet Geremew and Japan’s Suguru Osaka were right behind Farah, finishing in 2:05:24 and 2:05:50, respectively.

““I know what pace it takes to run with these guys and to run a decent time,”” said Farah after the race. ““Today, it just shows the depth of the guys in the race and how I came away with a win and a new British record . . . I know as well I could have gone a lot faster today.””

The top three female finishers were also close in times, with the 2017 runner up Brigid Kosgei from Kenya winning the field with a time of 2:18:35. This was Kosgei’s first Abbott World Marathon Major victory, and a personal best. Ethiopia’s Roza Dereje and Shure Demise were in second and third respectively, with times of 2:21:18 and 2:22:15.

“”I saw the other competitors, they were not following me … and I was just pushing myself and looking at the time and thinking 2:18,”” said Kosgei. ““I was not expecting to run 2:18, but I was targeting 2:19 this year . . . I hope I will be here again and I want to improve again.””

On the American side, last year’s champion Galen Rupp earned his second fastest time and was the first American finisher this year at 2:06:21. Elkanah Kibet was the second American in 13th in 2:12:35, and Aaron Braun was the third American in 2:13:16. Sarah Crouch was the first American female with a personal best of 2:32:37 in sixth place overall. Taylor Ward came in right behind Crouch at 2:32:47, and the third American and masters champion was eighth overall at 2:33:24.

The wheelchair race brought two new faces to the podium, with 20-year-old University of Illinois Racing Team athlete Daniel Romanchuk came in first at 1:31:34, with 2017 champion Marcel Hug right behind him at 1:31:35. The third male was David Weir from Great Britain at 1:31:43.

The women’s wheelchair champion was Manuela Schar, the reigning Tokyo and Berlin Marathon champions, with a time of 1:41:38 in her sixth appearance at the Chicago Marathon. 2018 London Marathon champion, Madison de Rozario finished strong in second in 1:43:16, and Susannah Scaroni found herself back in the top three for the first time since 2012, finishing third in 1:44:48.

Other fan favorites included Greek Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle 8k champion Alexi Pappas, who completed her debut marathon at 2:43:38; Olympic triathlete Gwen Jorgensen, who crossed at 2:36:23; Chicago Marathon American women record holder Joan Benoitt Samuelson earned a time of 3:12:13; and comedian Kevin Hart, who finished his second marathon in 4:13:10.

All other event results can be found here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here