Nearly 23,000 Finish Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle 8K


Photo courtesy of the Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle 8K

In blustery and chilly conditions, close to 23,000 runners filled the streets of downtown Chicago yesterday morning for the 36th annual Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle 8K. World record holder Stephen Sambu of Tucson, Arizona won the men’s race in 23:03, clocking the fastest time at the event in 13 years.

“It was my first time running in Chicago and I had a fantastic time,” Sambu said in a press release after the race.

Wearing bib #1, Nike Oregon Track Club runner Alexi Pappas won the women’s race, finishing in 26:32. Pappas had previously run in Chicago as a pacer for last year’s Bank of America Chicago Marathon.

“The first time I came [to Chicago] was in October to pace the marathon, and I don’t think I’ll be able to come back without running a race,” Pappas said at the post-race awards ceremony. “I’m really honored to be here. I turned 25 yesterday, and my dream came true.”

2014 Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle 8K champion Jacob Riley of Rochester Hills, Michigan came in second with a time of 23:10, and 2013 winner Phillip Reid of San Luis Obispo, California rounded out the top three in 23:19. Megan Goethals, also of Rochester Hills, was the second female finisher in 26:43, while local standout Kristen Heckert of Bolingbrook took third in 27:19.

Kevin Havel of Chicago was the first Illinois runner to finish, taking sixth place overall in 23:29. Matthew Blume of Chicago and Eric Wallor of Palatine took second and third for Illinois men, finishing in 24:41 and 24:57, respectively. After Heckert, Alyssa Poremba of Chicago and Elizabeth Bailey of Villa Park were the next two Illinois women finishers in 27:50 and 28:18, respectively.

Yesterday’s race also served as seventh annual USATF Elite Club 8K National Championships and saw 55 teams from around the country compete. The Hansons-Brooks Distance Project once again won both the men’s and women’s titles, marking the fourth consecutive win for the women and the fourth overall win for the men.

For complete results from the race, visit