ITU to Host Hall of Fame Induction Next Week


The International Triathlon Union will induct seven triathletes into its Hall of Fame on Sept. 17 as part of the full week of events related to the ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Chicago.

Australians Michelle Jones and Emma Snowsill, along with Portugal’s Vanessa Fernandes, make up this year’s elite women’s inductees. All three have medaled in past Olympic games, with Jones and Fernandes taking silver in Sydney and Beijing, respectively, while Snowsill was the 2008 Olympic champion.

Elite men Hamish Carter of New Zealand, Peter Robertson of Australia and Simon Whitfield of Canada will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Carter and Whitfield both won Olympic gold medals in Athens and Sydney, respectively. Robertson participated in the Olympics twice and won the ITU World Championship on three different occasions.

Chiharu Igaya of Japan will receive the Lifetime Achievement award. Igaya participated in the Olympics as a skier and went on to have great influence in the development of triathlon as a sport, serving as an ITU Executive Board Member from 1994-2008 and an IOC Executive Board member from 1987-1991 and 1996-2000.

The induction ceremony will take place after the competitions on Sept. 17, which include the Under-23 Men’s World Championships, Age-Group Sprint World Championships, and Junior Men’s World Championships, have concluded.