Deena Kastor, Alexi Pappas to run 2019 Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle with Mammoth Track Club

Screenshot of Alexi Pappas' Instagram account on 2/24.

The Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle announced that the Mammoth Track Club, headlined by Olympian and American record-holder and 2005 and 2009 Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle champion Deena Kastor and 2015 and 2016 Shamrock Shuffle champion Alexi Pappas, will make its debut in the 11th annual Deloitte Elite Club Competition. The Kansas City Smoke will also be back on the men’s side to defend their title.

“So pleased to announce ill be returning to the @chishuffle this march – this time with MY TEAM!!! we will chase that team win together,” Alexi Pappas wrote on her Instagram post last night.

“The Deloitte Elite Club Competition has grown into one of the most fun and competitive events for USATF-member running clubs in the nation. We are proud of the racing tradition we have built with this competition and with Deloitte’s partnership,” said Carey Pinkowski, executive race director of the Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle. “I can’t think of a better way to celebrate 40 years of the Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle than with a legend like Deena coming back to Chicago. She epitomizes not only the spirit of a champion but of the entire running community.”

The Deloitte Elite Club Competition attracts USATF-member clubs from around the U.S., allowing club teams a unique opportunity to compete on the roads for a $20,000 prize purse and national recognition as one of the best clubs. Last year’s competition featured more than 50 teams, and Chicago’s very own Second City Track Club picked up third-place finishes in both the men’s and women’s elite club competitions.

Three-time Bank of America Chicago Marathon champion and two-time Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle champion Amanda McGrory will be back to compete in the inaugural wheelchair division of the Deloitte Elite Club Competition.

In addition to the Deloitte Elite Club Competition, the event offers the Deloitte Open Team Competition with three divisions: competitive, recreational and corporate. The competition is open to all runners, running club members, groups of friends, co-workers and corporate teams. For more information, visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here