Bank of America Chicago Marathon Welcomes Strong American Field

Olympic Gold medalist and two-time triathlon world champion Gwen Jorgensen joins one of the deepest women's American fields in the history of the Bank of America Chicago Marathon

American Elite Field
20 Miler 728×90

The Bank of America Chicago Marathon announced today that defending champion Galen Rupp and American superstars Jordan Hasay, Amy Cragg and Laura Thweatt will be joined by a strong American field of runners at the 41st annual Bank of America Chicago Marathon. They will also go head-to-head with a mighty contingent of international athletes led by Mo Farah, past champions Abel Kirui and Dickson Chumba, 2017 runner-up Brigid Kosgei, and two-time third-place finisher and sub-2:20 runner Birhane Dibaba.

“We are thrilled with this year’s overall elite field,” said Bank of America Chicago Marathon Executive Race Director Carey Pinkowski. “There is an incredible amount of talent and momentum on the American women’s side, and Rupp is leading a resurgence on the men’s side. These athletes are going to put on quite a show in October, and they are going to keep alive Chicago’s legacy of supporting and showcasing top U.S. athletes.”

Gwen Jorgensen joins one of the deepest American women’s fields in the history of the Bank of America Chicago Marathon. Hasay currently ranks second on the list of all-time American marathoners with her 2:20:57 run at last year’s Chicago Marathon. Her time was the fastest American time ever run on U.S. soil. Cragg moved up to the fifth spot in U.S. history earlier this year with her 2:21:42 performance in Tokyo, and Thweatt claimed the ninth spot in London last year after she finished in 2:25:38. The last time three American women finished in the top five in Chicago was 1994, and the last time U.S. women claimed the top two spots was 1992. That could all change in 2018.

Women’s American Field

Name Personal Best
Jordan Hasay 2:20:57
Amy Cragg 2:21:42
Laura Thweatt 2:25:38
Sarah Crouch 2:32:44
Taylor Ward 2:35:27
Katie Matthews 2:38:40
Kristen Heckert 2:38:54
Gwen Jorgensen 2:41:01


Men’s American Field

Name Personal Best
Galen Rupp 2:06:07
Elkanah Kibet 2:11:31
Tyler McCandless 2:12:28
Aaron Braun 2:12:54
Kiya Dandena 2:12:56
Patrick Rizzo 2:13:42
Andrew Bumbalough 2:13:58
Johnny Crain 2:15:46
Jonas Hampton 2:15:46
Zach Hine 2:16:40
Andrew Epperson 2:15:54
Tony Migliozzi 2:17:27
Chris Lemon 2:18:06
Parker Stinson 2:18:07
Alan Peterson 2:18:47
George Alex 2:19:36
Ryan Root 2:19:51


To learn more about the athletes, read the entire press release here. Find out who’s in the International Elite Field here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here