2013 CARA Awards


The annual CARA awards were announced over the weekend and runners across Chicagoland have been recognized for their achievements through 2013. Among the awards given out were the Runners of the Year, Junior Runners of the Year, Clydesdale/Athena Runners of the year and Hall of Fame inductees.

The headline award for the night was the male and female Runners of the Year. Emisael Favela was the male winner joined by former Chicago Athlete Magazine Athlete of the Year Jacqui Giuliano on the women’s side. For Favela this is his third year on top of the CARA standings and second year in a row. The Chicagoan also won the award in 2006. The two earned the award after totaling the most points throughout the 2013 CARA Circuit.

Also in contention on the men’s side were former Athlete of the Month winners Scott Mangum and Michael Cauley, who finished 5th and 3rd respectively. Joining Guiliano as former AOTM winners on the women’s side were Pamela Staton, Wendy Jaehn and Stephanie Hughes who made up the top four point getters.

The award for Masters Runners of the year went to Julie Talbot and Scott Laumann, who finished 4th overall on the men’s point total. The other end of the spectrum saw Junior Runners of the Year go to Kenny Herrmann and Isabella Alansari. The Clydesdale and Athena division winners were former AOTM winner Mick Brown and Helen Nuttall.

Six runners were awarded the Hall of Fame. Among them, Grace Wasielewski, Barry Brandt, Eric Burgess, Gregory Smith, David Dziagwa and Steve Sarowitz.

CARA breaks down their point totals in some interesting and impressive ways. Clubs who competed together were ranked and the Dick Pond Fast Track Racing Team won going away. The Fast Track team won first place in the combined age-graded category, the male and female open category, the male and female masters as well as the male veteran category. Also taking home awards were members of the Lake Forest/Lake Bluff Running Club, the Evanston Running Club and Oak Park Runners Club.

The Race That’s Good For Life was named the 2013 Race of the Year. This year’s Race That’s Good For Life will be held on April 6 in Oak Park.


For a complete listing of the final standings and all the award winners, go to cararuns.org. There is also a breakdown of age group winners and participant award winners.