Kenyans Victorious at TCS New York City Marathon


Photo by Getty Images

For the second time in three weeks, two Kenyans took top honors at an Abbott World Marathon Majors event, with Stanley Biwott and Mary Keitany continuing the country’s marathon dominance after Dickson Chumba and Florence Kiplagat broke the tape at the Bank of America Chicago Marathon in October.

A late surge allowed Biwott to overtake Geoffery Kamworor, also of Kenya, and win the race in 2:10:34. Biwott, who finished fifth in the 2013 New York City Marathon, had not won a marathon since Paris in 2012. Biwott now holds fifth place in the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series IX standings. Eliud Kipchoge, winner of both the London and Berlin Marathons this year, holds a strong lead over Lelisa Desisa, who moved into second in the series after finishing third in New York and Dickson Chumba, both tied for second with 34 points.

Keitany defended her title in the professional’s women’s race in 2:24:25, finishing more than one minute before runner-up Aselefech Mergia of Ethiopia. No woman had won two consecutive New York City Marathons since Paula Radcliffe in 2008. Keitany, a perennial competitor at New York, is tied with 2015 Boston Marathon runner-up Mare Dibaba for first in the World Marathon Majors Series IX standings.

Tatyana McFadden continued to dominate women’s wheelchair racing with her victory in New York, winning the London Marathon, Boston Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and New York City Marathon in one calendar year for the third time. McFadden handily set a new course record in New York this year as well, finishing in 1:42:05, compared to the previous record of 1:50:24.

Ernst Van Dyk, the 2013 Bank of America Chicago Marathon men’s wheelchair champion and 10-time Boston Marathon champion, won the men’s race in 1:30:54. With their victories, McFadden and Van Dyk won the Chicago-New York Challenge.

According to the race’s unofficial results, 760 runners from Illinois finished the New York City Marathon this year. Andrew Kaehr was the top Illinois male, taking 133rd overall in 2:43:07, followed by Bob LaRue in 2:44:44 and Nicholas Aubert in 2:45:34. Lillie Romeiser, the 39th overall female finisher and first female finisher from Illinois, turned in a 2:57:46. Columba Montes and Laura Link were the second and third female finishers from Illinois, finishing in 3:06:32 and 3:07:06, respectively.

Complete coverage and results are available at